Can you replace a signal gear in an 87 300ZX transmission - Nissan : Datsun ZCar forum :Nissan Z Forum: 240Z to 370Z
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 11:45 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Can you replace a signal gear in an 87 300ZX transmission

Hi there, this may be a dumb question but I need to know if it’s possible to replace just a single gear within the manual transmission. The reverse gear in my trans is slipping badly, but all the rest of the gears work beautifully. I’d rather not have to replace the whole trans if possible. I’m a real newbie when it comes to transmission work, and as I said this may be a super obvious question! Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! -Carson
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old Today, 06:42 AM

Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Garage
Yes you can. It is common to open a transmission and order parts once you identify what needs replaced. It might be worth borrowing some experience when it comes to "identifying" what is bad.

A bearing/synchro rebuild kit is around $100 dollars. This is the normal manual rebuild kit (gaskets, seals, ...); it does not include any gears.
A reverse gear kit is also around $100 dollars

I can get a used transmission from my local "Pull and Save" for $76 + a $20 core charge, but it is getting more difficult to find Z31's at these salvage yards. This transmission (FS5W71C) is used in other vehicles.

1984 300zx non-turbo
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old Today, 08:08 PM Thread Starter

Quoted: 6 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by thansen View Post
Yes you can. It is common to open a transmission and order parts once you identify what needs replaced. It might be worth borrowing some experience when it comes to "identifying" what is bad.