1978 280Z Runs rough? - Nissan : Datsun ZCar forum :Nissan Z Forum: 240Z to 370Z
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 56 (permalink) Old 06-07-2019, 09:31 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
1978 280Z Runs rough?

I'm a rookie to this so be kind. Just looking for advice on possible solutions for my 1978 Datsun 280Z (California model) running rough after it gets to running temp. Starts great and runs smooth on all 6. As soon at it gets to running temp it starts missing (I'm told its missing on cylinders 1-2).
1. does anyone know of any good Datsun mechanics within 100 miles of southwest Michigan? I can't seem to find anyone who has interest in working on it?
2. just looking for suggestions for what this could be. I've seen that these tend to have problems when they get really warm, but not sure what it means when it runs rough when just getting to running temp.

thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 56 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 07:56 PM

Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Sounds like you may have a faulty coolant temperature sensor. Does it blow Black smoke when it is running rough?
post #3 of 56 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 03:47 PM

Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Here, in order of cheapness/freeness, are a few suggestions:
1: Go through and clean every electrical connection you can find under the hood. If you can't physically clean them with a wire brush or spraying electrical cleaner, make-unmake the connections several times to 'freshen' them up. These cars are very sensitive to good electrical connections and many of those get diry/corroded and build up resistance over the years. And I'm talking EVERY connection - injectors, sensors, battery terminals and even grounds.