3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-12-2019, 10:36 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Exclamation 280ZX Won't crank

I have been restoring my 280ZX for a couple months. My father got a friend from work to help put some new coilovers and do some basic maintenance things such as change transmission, brake, and rear diff fluids etc.. The first time he came over my father wanted me to leave the keys to the 280 so he could take it around the block and see if they could hear anything wrong with it mechanically. I forgot to leave the keys at the house so they decided to jump start it. After that day there was a red blinking light in the center control panel that looked like some sort of after market security system. After the light started flashing the car wouldn't even crank. So I went under the dash and took out the security system and the light stopped flashing but the car still wont start. Naturally I thought that the solenoid was fried so I got a new one and put it in properly, still no crank. Next thing I could think of is that the battery is shot, I asked my dad and he said they accidentally put the polarities on the wrong sides when they went to jump it with another car (last time I'm leaving him with my car alone). So I switched the battery with a battery I have in my old 1984 GMC Suburban, and put a car battery charger on it. Now when it charges the left blinker blinks for some reason even when the blinker isn't engaged in the cab, and the whole situation is making me upset because I just wanted to restore it and now I have more problems then I asked for. Oh and still after the battery change it won't start or even start to crank... So any ideas? I would really like to drive my 280ZX again but it wont even crank
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 03-13-2019, 12:12 AM

Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)