drive ability issue with '83 Turbo 280ZX 5-spd - Nissan : Datsun ZCar forum :Nissan Z Forum: 240Z to 370Z
User Tag List

1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 05:55 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
drive ability issue with '83 Turbo 280ZX 5-spd

Newbie here, 1st post... so I'll try to be as proficient with the problem as possible.... I am experiencing a slight idle surge from 600-900 rpm's at cold idle, and upon slight acceleration, the engine stumbles and will backfire seemingly thru the intake, and not so much thru the exhaust. After 3-4 min's of idling, or driving, the engine stumbles significantly more and won't accelerate, then within approx. 1 min. will cut off and not crank again until it cools down for at least a couple hours... The car has 81k miles and I purchased it from the original owner who let the car sit for about 16 years... I have replaced the battery, coil, fuel pump, fuel filter, distributor cap, rotor, new ngk spark plugs gapped at .0040, new 10mm accel plug wires with the correct placement firing order. I dropped the fuel tank and cleaned it thoroughly including the fuel lines also. I put 10 gals. 93 octane ethanol free fuel in it. I also upgraded the cluth, pressure plate, throwout and pilot bearing, including complete new brake system (lines, master cyl. (was leaking), new calipers, rotors, and raybestos ceramic pads all around.
I feel like it's an electrical issue, thankful it's not intermittent, but symptomatic from initial startup.