ZCAR.COM
The Internet Source
for Z Car Information
forums
classifieds
events
help
sponsors
t-shirts

ZCAR.COM Store


Car Talk Forum 
Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: HomeMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
scam
Posted by: thedude420
Date: July 15, 2004 10:48PM

I just read the nbc scam thingy and noticed it was oddly familiar to what this guy "James Morgan" tried to screw me over with. He stopped responding after i told him i would have to know the shipping arrangement and i would have to wait for the check to clear.

Information about inquiring person:
Name: james morgan
Email: james_morgan@keromail.com
===================================================
i am a trader in europe ...i want to purchase your car part,really i
have seen all it's detail and condition on the adverts.and iwant to
know he cost price so that we can proceed to payment,however i want
you to know that iwill pay by cashier check

(I told him the price)

Hello ,

Thanks for your mail,am seroiusly interested and what about the condition
and give me the price so l can decided to make payment to regain ownership i
mean a cashier cheque drawn from a US bank and my client told me it will take
3or 4 days to clear in the bank. and thanks for your concern over shipping but
that will be handle by my shipping agent because the goods is going to my base.
And kindly forward your fullname,residential address and cellphone number
so that payment can be issue ASAP.hope to hear from you .
Regard
james.

(I responded)

The condition is ok. There is only minimal rust on the air cleaner chrome
> which can be seen in the picture. What sort of shipping method will we be
> using? I need to know this. I also cannot ship until I receive the check and
> it clears.

Hello ,
ok ,i will instruct my client to issue you the cheque immediately .but less i
forget,my client will send you the cheque base on the amount he is owing me and
i will require your assistance here, that is you will help me to wire the
balance to my shipping agent who will take care of the of the shipment. my
client will send to you a cheque of $2000 you are to deduct your money from it
{$100} and $100 for the favour and stress involve in wiring him the balance
through western union money transfer so that he can come for the pick up ontime
. i will enterain any question,comment and suggestion.i will be glad if you
contact me soon so that i can instruct him to send you the cheque.kindly
forward your fullname so that my client will OK about the name then will write
to cheque.
N.D: If you are ok with my proposer, please take the advert off forsale.

Best regard,
JAMES.

(I then sent him an e-mail saying that i was not going to participate in money laundering and i never heard from him again)

My carb setup is still for sale by the way.


Options: ReplyQuote
Re: scam
Posted by: mike240
Date: July 16, 2004 12:13PM

on scams like this, can't you(or anyone that is trying to be scammed) find some safe way of going along with the prick and then contacting the police(or the FBI even) to see if they can set up some sort of sting op out of it? i think that would be the first thing i did. i would try to discreetly get additional contact information from them initially(whilst trying not to spook them), that way you could play dumb and still contact them if they stopped contact with you and that would also give the authorities more leads in trying to apprehend them. or you could even have them send you the check(but don't cash it) and then turn the check(along with copies of all your correspondence) into the police. has anybody from here, that has had the scam attempted on them, ever thought of doing what i mentioned above? wouldn't it be feasible?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: scam
Posted by: thedude420
Date: July 16, 2004 12:39PM

i thought about doing it, but they are usually good at covering their tracks and all i would have is a counterfeit check and a fake adress and name.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: scam
Posted by: Imabubba
Date: July 16, 2004 06:19PM

Seems like there are a lot of people named James doing rip-offs

[www.zcar.com]

Disclaimer: This is in NO WAY to be interpretted that all people named "James" fall into this low-life class of people!

Options: ReplyQuote


Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.