Opinions on car purchase.... - Nissan : Datsun ZCar forum :Nissan Z Forum: 240Z to 370Z
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-14-2017, 03:22 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Opinions on car purchase....

I am new to the Z world so I thought I would bounce this off you vets....

I am looking at a '72 240z that I intend to completely strip, cage, and build into a track car. I just went over it with a fine toothed comb, and saw:

Passenger floor panel is rusted through under the seat and will definitely need to be replaced. Driver's side floor shows at least some surface rust, but still "pings" like solid metal so it is 50/50.

There is at least some surface rust on the inside engine bay under the battery tray. Again, it rings like solid metal but may need some work. Both frame rails looks arrow straight and solid. Engine bay and rear spare tire area still have what I am 98% sure is original paint, no bubbles or signs of other troubles. I could find no evidence of a collision either front or rear, yet I did notice that both doors seem to be sitting a bit "forward"....like the gaps are a bit screwed up. Any opinions on that?

I could find not signs of rust in fender areas or rockers. Used a magnet and found no thick bondo anywhere.

Car runs decently, aesthetically the interior is trashed, but I don't need/want any of that stuff anyway.

What would you guys call a fair price for this car as I described it? Any obvious critical areas I have forgotten to check?

Thanks.

Last edited by Ironhead; 03-14-2017 at 03:28 PM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 01:25 PM Thread Starter

(Thread Starter)
Nevermind...going to try to find one with less rust.

But thanks for all the input regardless!
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-15-2017, 02:11 PM

Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironhead View Post