ZCar Forum banner

New Z Owner. Is this a good deal?

2K views 15 replies 7 participants last post by  ricosuave 
#1 ·
Hello everyone. My name is richard, i am new to the z car scene and hopefully will be starting a build tread soon.
I purchased a 72 240 Z. I got it for $400 bucks. Typical rust under the battery tower, see through the floors, some rust on the roof above the drip rails, on the front of the quarter panels near ther door, and some on the front of the doors. I have no experience patching rust si this will my first learning experience for that. Also the car is in pieces. The interior and engine bay is in boxes for the most part (yikes). Its very daunting but ive wanted a z for a while now and figured id never find another one for such a low price so i jumped. Basically i just want to know if you guys think i got a good deal and any tips going forward in the future if you care to include them.

Thanks Z Community!!

#2 ·
First of all, welcome to the forum and all the great folks that are here to help.

Well Richard, for $400 it's probably OK as even if it is a basket case, you can part it out and get your money back and then some. Some photos would help but since you're new I think you have to post some more before the forum lets you post photos.

I recently restored a 260Z and started with a car that sounds like it was in the kind of condition yours is in. I ended up purchasing a second car for parts and found the second car was so much better, I restored the second car using the first one for parts. It really does help to have two cars.

If you are on a limited budget, this could be a problem. If you've never restored a car before, that's a problem too. Are you mechanically inclined? Do you have tools and a good place to work? Are you willing to be patient? Tell us more about yourself! That will help you get to the post requirement for putting up photos.