Misfire Sparkplugs are black? - Nissan : Datsun ZCar forum :Nissan Z Forum: 240Z to 370Z
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 01:29 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Misfire Sparkplugs are black?

Hello I am new to the Z world. I just got a 1971 240z with an L28 in it with original 240 carbs.

I thought I had a misfire so pulled all of the plugs and discovered that my first three look pretty good about cardboard brown, however my 4-6 plugs where really black and oily. I'm guessing that it is a carburetor issue but not exactly sure if any one can point me in the right direction that would be greatly appreciated.

71' 240z
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-05-2017, 04:49 PM

Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Garage
Rear carb may be running rich. Lean it out by twisting the adjustment nut CCW when looking from the top of the carb. There are lots of posts on how to adjust your carbs.

Scott
Tucson, Arizona

9/74 260Z VIN RLS30 060061
Restored!
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 03:16 PM

Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Unfortunately, a rich mixture doesn't produce oil though, just a dry black carbon fouling and it would be on all cylinders, not just two of them. You can clean and lean, but if the plugs come out oily again either your valve seals are leaking or the oil control rings are bad on those two cylinders. I made a Youtube video on replacing the valve stem seals. If you see smoke when taking off from a stoplight, it is probably the rings though. Compression and leak down tests can still show that the cylinders have good compression too if just the oil rings are bad, but it wouldn't hurt to do a compression test. It's an easy and low cost engine to rebuild though.

Last edited by sactojohn; 01-08-2017 at 03:20 PM.

post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-08-2017, 06:19 PM

Quoted: 14 Post(s)