Bringing 1972 240Z Back to Life - Nissan : Datsun ZCar forum :Nissan Z Forum: 240Z to 370Z
User Tag List

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
#1 (permalink) Old 04-09-2011, 08:30 PM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Bringing 1972 240Z Back to Life

Hi All! Newbie here. My friend and I are working on his newly acquired original 1972 240Z. Original L24 engine, round top carbs, and original...well, most everything. This is basically a driveway job, not a real restoration or anything, so we're doing what we can. Pictures will go up later, but they aren't that great. Let me preface all this by saying that neither of us are too familiar with Z's, but we're doing our best. I work on older Toyota's mainly. And yes, we already have the FSM! We don't know what's original and what's not, so please bear with us. In fact, we're looking (long-term) at doing an all original restoration. But first, let's get this thing driving!

Here's a little background: His grandfather bought the car new in 1972 and has had it since. Around 2001 he stopped driving it and just left it out in the driveway, in the sun all day, all the fluids in it, etc. Needless to say, it's in rough shape. The good news is, it (sorta) runs! Fresh gas, oil, oil filter and a battery and it came to life! (Rather sickly might I add) It should be noted though, that there is A LOT of stuff (mainly hoses and tubing) missing, especially from the air system, so we don't really know what's what.

So, our issues at this point:

1.)It was leaking coolant, but we're in the process of replacing all the lines, the thermostat housing, and flushing the system completely. Aside from lines, all seems to be working mildly okay. There is, though, what looks like a metal pipe between the intake manifolds (?) that's just basically dripping. Any idea what that is or if there's a fix?